LOOP AFFECT

Louise Baduel

DANCE | INSTALLATION

Creation  m̶a̶r̶s̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶1̶  November 2021

press .

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

RTBF | Xavier Ess -  06/17/2021

How do you become a dancer or a break dancer? [...] Breathtaking demonstration by the 5 dancers of DRESS CODE.

The mastery is breathtaking and the figures require constant rigor and physical commitment. It is this long walk until exhaustion - literally and figuratively in DRESS CODE - which gives weight to this cardio dance; twirling dance of the heart, defying all the laws of gravity, whether physical or social, even in our heads.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

Evening | Jean-Marie Wynants - 06/19-20/2021

With this creation for five formidable breakdancers, Julien Carlier delivers a powerful and fragile, virtuoso and intimate choreography. A jewel.

DRESS CODE is a wonderful moment of dance and choreography, with its breaks in rhythm, its comings and goings between the intimate and the group, its magical stagings of bodies on the razor's edge, its moments when movement , magnified by the light, becomes almost abstract, freeing itself from the body... And a happy, explosive finale where the sum of the individualities creates a whole that is as irresistible as it is harmonious.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

The Free | Marie Baudet-  06/23/2021

Scrutinized from the inside by Julien Carlier, hip hop overflows the frame. Exciting.

The sometimes mechanical aspect linked to technical prowess – although present – is often replaced by the organic breath of a nonchalant and powerful pack.
A real work of time runs through the room, whose changing rhythms inhabit and dress the space with intensity, restraint, play, finally joy. Galvanizing.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

Culture Point | Jean-Jacques Goffinon- 06/23/2021

Like an invisible witness, we are witnessing the putting into practice of a sensitive and demanding art […].

In the abnegation of discipline, the show describes the physical pain, the rigor, the violence of the confrontations, the solidarity of the group and its hermetic rules. Julien Carlier's choreography goes well beyond the simply virtuoso ballet that break-dancers generally provoke. He narrates, describes, makes feel an unsuspected dramaturgy for a contemporary writing far from dusty clichés.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

Movement | Belinda Mathieu - 07/13/2021

Carried away by the groove of the music, [the dancers] bring out their communicative energy, their complicity and their love of dance.

Thanks to his subtle writing, Julien Carlier deploys a convincing ballet, where we enjoy both the choreographer's ability to bring the bodies into the same frequency, and the virtuosity of each performer. With skill, he makes us taste an essential quality of this social dance: the pleasure of being together.

DRESS CODE

Julien Carlier / Cie Abis

DANSE

Création juin 2021

presse.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

RTBF | Xavier Ess - 17/06/2021

Comment devient-on danseur ou danseuse de break ? [...] Démonstration soufflante par les 5 danseur.euse.s de DRESS CODE.

La maîtrise est époustouflante et les figures exigent une rigueur et un engagement physique de tous les instants. C'est cette longue marche jusqu'à l'épuisement - au propre comme au figuré dans DRESS CODE - qui donne du poids à cette danse cardio ; danse du cœur virevoltante, défiant toutes les lois de la pesanteur, qu'elles soient physiques ou sociales, jusque dans nos têtes.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

Le Soir | Jean-Marie Wynants -19-20/06/2021

Avec cette création pour cinq formidables interprètes de breakdance, Julien Carlier livre une chorégraphie puissante et fragile, virtuose et intimiste. Un bijou.

DRESS CODE est un formidable moment de danse et de chorégraphie, avec ses cassures de rythme, ses va-et-vient entre l’intime et le groupe, ses mises en scène magiques de corps sur le fil du rasoir, ses moments où le mouvement, magnifié par la lumière, devient presque abstrait, s’affranchissant du corps... Et un final joyeux, explosif où la somme des individualités crée un ensemble aussi irrésistible qu’harmonieux.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

La Libre | Marie Baudet - 23/06/2021

Scruté de l’intérieur par Julien Carlier, le hip hop déborde du cadre. Passionnant.

À l’aspect parfois machinique lié aux prouesses techniques – bien présentes pourtant – se substitue souvent le souffle organique d’une meute nonchalante et puissante.
Un vrai travail du temps parcourt la pièce, dont les rythmes changeants habitent et habillent l’espace d’intensité, de retenue, de jeu, de joie enfin. Galvanisant.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

Point Culture | Jean-Jacques Goffinon-23/06/2021

Comme un témoin invisible, nous assistons à la mise en pratique d'un art sensible et exigeant [...].

Dans l'abnégation de la discipline, le spectacle décrit les peines physiques, la rigueur, la violence des confrontations, la solidarité du groupe et ses règles hermétiques. La chorégraphie e Julien Carlier va bien au-delà du ballet simplement virtuose que provoquent en général les break-dancers. Il narre, décrit, fait ressentir une dramaturgie insoupçonnée pour une écriture contemporaine loin des clichés poussiéreux.

DRESS CODE 1 ©Julien Carlier-min.jpg

Mouvement | Belinda Mathieu -13/07/2021

Emporté[e]s par le groove de la musique, [les danseurs et danseuses] font jaillir leur énergie communicative, leur complicité et leur amour de la danse.

Grâce à son écriture subtile, Julien Carlier déploie un ballet convaincant, où l'on jouit aussi bien de la capacité du chorégraphe à amener les corps dans une même fréquence, que de la virtuosité de chaque interprète. Avec adresse, il nous fait goûter une qualité primordiale de cette danse sociale : le plaisir d'être ensemble.