DRESS CODE

Julien Carlier / Cie Abis

DANCE

Creation June 2021 - 50'

DRESS CODE is rooted in a relationship with reality, and in the concrete nature of a practice : breakdancing.

The piece is constructed as a dive into the closed universe of the training room, highlighting the bodies of these dancers and their experiences. The spectator is invited to observe this microcosm and to zoom in until he.she finds himself.herself as close to the dancers as possible, eye to eye.

Choreography Julien Carlier Creation & interpretation Fabio Amato, Nouri El-Mazoughi, Audrey Lambert, Benoît Nieto Duran, Jules Rozenwajn Dramaturgy Fanny Brouyaux Music Simon Carlier Light design Julien Vernay Set design Justine Bougerol Costumes Marine Stevens Movement Coaching Helder Seabra Distribution Bloom Project

DRESS CODE is a dive into the complex world of breakdance and its rituals. Through a choreographic device made of jumps, runs and technical movements, the show presents the dancers in their positions of strength and weakness and reveals the psychological and physical mechanisms inherent to this discipline.


DRESS CODE - as a metaphor for the set of rules of self-presentation that must be respected in order to belong to this community - shows another facet of the breakdance world, inconspicuous from the outside.

It questions the specificity of each individual on stage and the singularity of this dance. By giving 5 young dancers the opportunity to talk about their practice, Julien Carlier stages individuals and their experiences, the self-sacrifice they had to show while in the concrete time of the performance, in front of the public, this attempt to surpass themselves and this quest for approval are replayed. What drives this pure technical prowess? The choreography, close to a ritual, dissects the codes of breakdance and shows both the strengths and weaknesses that are hidden behind this discipline.

Production Cie Abis Coproduction Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Charleroi danse, Centre chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Theater Freiburg and La Coop asbl With the support of the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Service de la Danse, de Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING and Tax-Shelter of the Belgian federal government With the help of the Centre culturel Jacques Franck, Zinnema and Le Grand Studio

 
 
DIARY 

07>16/07/2022

Festival Off, Avignon (TBC)

+ info

03/12/2022

Theater Freiburg (De)

11>13/01/2023

Theater Les Tanneurs, Brussels (Be) (TBC)

01/21/2023

Three CL, Luxembourg (Mo)

11>12/04/2023

Cultural Center of Huy (Be) (TBC)

PAST DATES

16>20/06/2021

*CREATION*

Theater Les Tanneurs, Brussels (Be)

24>25/06/2021

​Charleroi-Dance (Be)

05-07/02/2022

Jacques Franck Cultural Center, Brussels (Be)

02/10/2022

Pays de Danse Festival, Welkenraedt Cultural Center (Be)

DRESS CODE

Julien Carlier | Cie Abis

DANSE

Création  juin 2021 - 50'

DRESS CODE s’ancre dans un rapport au réel, et dans le concret d’une pratique : celle du breakdance.
La pièce est construite comme une plongée dans l’univers clos de la salle d’entraînement, mettant en avant les corps de ces danseur.ses et leurs vécus. Le spectateur est invité à observer ce microcosme et à y zoomer jusqu’à se retrouver au plus proche des danseur.ses, les yeux dans les yeux.

Chorégraphie Julien Carlier Création & interprétation Fabio Amato, Nouri El-Mazoughi, Audrey Lambert, Benoît Nieto Duran, Jules Rozenwajn Dramaturgie Fanny Brouyaux Musique Simon Carlier Création lumière Julien Vernay Scénographie Justine Bougerol Costumes Marine Stevens Coaching mouvement Helder Seabra Diffusion Bloom Project 

DRESS CODE est une plongée dans l’univers complexe du breakdance et de ses rituels. À travers un dispositif chorégraphique fait de sauts, de
courses et de mouvements techniques, le spectacle montre les danseur·ses dans leurs positions de force et de faiblesse et donne à voir les mécanismes psychologiques et physiques inhérents à cette discipline.


DRESS CODE – dont le titre sert de métaphore à l’ensemble des règles de mise en scène de soi qu’il faut respecter pour pouvoir appartenir à cette communauté – montre une autre facette du milieu du breakdance, peu visible de l’extérieur.

Il interroge la spécificité de chaque individu sur scène et la singularité de cette danse. En donnant la parole à 5 jeunes danseur·ses sur leur pratique, Julien Carlier met en scène des individus et leur vécu, l’abnégation dont ils ont dû faire preuve alors que dans le temps concret de la représentation, face au public, se rejouent cette tentative de dépassement et cette quête d’approbation. Quels moteurs se cachent derrière cette pure prouesse technique ? La chorégraphie, proche du rituel, décortique les codes du breakdance et montre aussi bien les forces que les failles qui se cachent derrière cette discipline.

Production Cie Abis Coproduction Théâtre Les Tanneurs,
Charleroi danse, Centre chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Theater Freiburg et La Coop asbl Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Service de la Danse, de Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING et Tax-Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge Avec l’aide du Centre culturel Jacques Franck, Zinnema et Le Grand Studio.

 
 
AGENDA 

07 16/07/2022

La Manufacture, Festival Off, Avignon (Fr)

(Relâche 13/07) - 15h25

03/12/2022

Theater Freiburg (De)

11 13/01/2023

Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (Be)

21/01/2023

Trois CL, Luxembourg (Lu)

11 12/04/2023

Centre culturel de Huy (Be)


DATES PASSÉES

16 20/06/2021

*CRÉATION*

Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (Be)

24 25/06/2021

​Charleroi-Danse (Be)

05 07/02/2022

Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, Bruxelles (Be)

10/02/2022

Festival Pays de Danse, Centre culturel de Welkenraedt (Be)