Julien Carlier
Cie Abis

julien Carlier2.jpg

Through creations of various shapes, combining the virtuosity of the Hip-Hop vocabulary with a search for sensitivity, Julien Carlier works on the porosity between the reality experienced by the individual within him and that perceived by others from the outside. .

Born in Brussels in 1985, Julien Carlier approaches dance in a self-taught way through the practice of Breakdance. At the same time, he trained in physiotherapy and obtained a Master's degree at the Free University of Brussels. Her first experiences on the stage as well as her exploration of dance came from interdisciplinary artistic exchanges and projects created in collectives. He also participated in the first edition of the Tremplin Hip-Hop training in Brussels in 2012 initiated by the choreographer Jean Claude Pambé Wayack. In 2016-17, he joined the Prototype IV training program at Royaumont Abbey in Paris. 

Since 2015, he has been creating his own choreographic work which, over the years, has evolved to open up more and more towards the international. He is currently resident choreographer at Charleroi Danse for seasons 20-21, 21-22, 22-23. It is also supported by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, the Grand Studio.

Through creations of various forms, combining the virtuosity of the Hip-Hop vocabulary with a search for sensitivity, Julien works on the porosity between the reality experienced by the individual in his heart of hearts and that perceived by others from the outside. His work is anchored in the concrete encounters, practices, sensations experienced, etc. It is the passage from reality to the stage space that interests him, placing the body as a medium/witness to this transformation.
Among the themes of the creations, we find the meeting between dance and other artistic practices, the relationship to constraint and physical commitment, a questioning of sensory perceptions, power relations, resilience, the question of the limit, ..

His first piece, MON/DE (2015) is inspired by experiences of sleep paralysis, an exploration of a modified state of consciousness, of a drift from reality in this “wake/sleep” in-between.

In the process, he created in 2016 Deja-vu , a labyrinthine performance for 4 dancers lost in a house setting, where the markers of time and space are turned upside down.

From 2018, Julien sets up the LABOS , occasional and itinerant choreographic research residencies settling in partner places. They allow the company to work on choreographic material through experimentation, to bring out ideas, to bring together disciplines and artists, to invent multidisciplinary forms in complete freedom.

In 2019, he created the piece Golem , a duo between dance and sculpture built around the meeting between Julien and the septuagenarian sculptor Mike Sprogis, which was selected to participate in several prestigious promotional showcases: Objectif Danse 9 (Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles), Aerowaves 2020  (online) and the Edinburgh Fringe Festival (report). 

His creation, Dress Code (June 2021 ̶2̶0̶2̶0̶), features breakdancers, and questions the practice of this discipline. 

In October 2021, he created  Collapse , during the opening of the International Biennale of Charleroi-danse. The subject of accumulation and collapse is explored on stage through the dance and the bodies of the 6 dancers but also through the construction using objects, such as Kaplas, as well as the use of live video projection. .

Julien Carlier
Cie Abis

julien Carlier2.jpg

A travers des créations de formes diverses, combinant la virtuosité du vocabulaire Hip-Hop à une recherche de sensibilité, Julien Carlier travaille sur la porosité entre la réalité vécue par l’individu en son for intérieur et celle perçue par les autres depuis l’extérieur.

Né à Bruxelles en 1985, Julien Carlier approche la danse de manière autodidacte par la pratique du Breakdance. En parallèle, il se forme à la kinésithérapie et obtient un Master à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles. Ses premières expériences de la scène ainsi que son exploration de la danse lui viennent d’échanges artistiques interdisciplinaires et de projets créés en collectifs. Il participe également à la première édition de la formation Tremplin Hip-Hop à Bruxelles en 2012 initiée par le chorégraphe Jean Claude Pambé Wayack. En 2016-17, il intègre le programme de formation Prototype IV à l’abbaye de Royaumont à Paris. 

Depuis 2015, il réalise son propre travail chorégraphique qui, au fil des ans, a évolué pour s’ouvrir de plus en plus vers l'international. Il est actuellement chorégraphe résident à Charleroi Danse pour les saisons 20-21, 21-22, 22-23. Il est également soutenu par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, le Grand Studio.

A travers des créations de formes diverses, combinant la virtuosité du vocabulaire Hip-Hop à une recherche de sensibilité, Julien travaille sur la porosité entre la réalité vécue par l’individu en son for intérieur et celle perçue par les autres depuis l’extérieur. Son travail s’ancre dans le concret de rencontres, de pratiques, de sensations vécues, etc. C’est le passage du réel vers l’espace scénique qui l’intéresse, plaçant le corps comme médium/témoin de cette transformation.
Parmi les thèmes des créations, on retrouve la rencontre entre la danse et d’autres pratiques artistiques, le rapport à la contrainte et à l’engagement physique, un questionnement sur les perceptions sensorielles, les rapports de force, la résilience, la question de la limite, ..

Sa première pièce, MON/DE (2015) est inspirée des expériences de paralysies du sommeil, une exploration d’un état de conscience modifiée, d’une dérive du réel dans cet entre-deux « veille/sommeil ».

Dans la foulée, il crée en 2016 Déjà-vu, performance labyrinthique pour 4 danseurs perdus dans un décor de maison, où les repères de temps et d’espaces sont chamboulés.

A partir de 2018, Julien met en place les LABOS, des résidences de recherche chorégraphique ponctuelles et itinérantes s’installant dans des lieux partenaires. Elles permettent à la compagnie de travailler la matière chorégraphique via l’expérimentation, de faire émerger des idées, de faire se rencontrer les disciplines et les artistes, d'inventer des formes multidisciplinaires en toute liberté.

En 2019, il crée la pièce Golem, duo entre danse et sculpture construit autour de la rencontre entre Julien et le sculpteur septuagénaire Mike Sprogis, qui sera sélectionnée pour participer à plusieurs vitrines promotionnelles prestigieuses : Objectif Danse 9 (Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles), AEROWAVES SPRING FORWARD et le Fringe Festival d'Edimbourg

Sa dernière création, Dress Code (2020), met en scène des breakdancers, et questionne la pratique de cette discipline. 

En 2021, il crée Collapse, lors de l’ouverture de la Biennale internationale de la danse de Charleroi-danse. Le sujet de l’accumulation et de l’effondrement est exploré sur scène à travers la danse et les corps des 6 danseurs mais aussi par la construction en utilisant des objet, tels que des Kaplas, ainsi que l’utilisation de la projection vidéo live.