COLLAPSE

Julien Carlier / Cie Abis

DANCE

Creation October 2021 - 50'

At a time when our reference points are collapsing, serious alarms are being ringed about our future, what about the resilience of bodies? If we observe and experiment like children, the slow construction of a form, followed by its rapid collapse like a Kapla castle, what kind of states, images, emotions and reactions would we experience?

Choreograph and artistic direction Julien Carlier Musical creation and artistic collaboration Simon Carlier Dance - creation and interpretation Jules Rozenwajn, Daniel Barkan, Benoit Nieto Duran, Dunya Narli, Joël Brown, Lory Laurac Musician - drum live Tom Malmendier Light design Arié Van Egmond Set design Boris Dambly Costumes Alexandra Sebbag Dramaturgy Fanny Brouyaux Production Xavier Melis Development and distribution BLOOM Project  

At a time when our reference points are collapsing, serious alarms are being ringed about our future, what about the resilience of bodies? If we observe and experiment like children, the slow construction of a form, followed by its rapid collapse like a Kapla castle, what kind of states, images, emotions and reactions would we experience?

 

With COLLAPSE, Julien Carlier, resident artist of Charleroi Danse, goes in search of our points of balance and fall, interested as always in an exploration of the limits, a questioning of our sensitivity and our gravity. Here, the dancers become object-bodies, manipulable and manipulators, within a set design conceived as a playground, offering freedom and constraint. In search of ascension, standing or collapsing, stable or unstable, whatever our position, whatever our intention, "we are all - as the choreographer notes - constantly busy dancing to maintain our balance" - Fabienne Aucant / Charleroi danse

Production Cie Abis Coproduction Charleroi-Danse – Centre chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, le Théâtre Les Tanneurs, le CDCN Pôle Sud de Strasbourg et le CCN Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin With the support of Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service de la Danse, Wallonie-Bruxelles International (WBI) and SACD

Julien Carlier is a resident choreographer at Charleroi-Danse, and is supported by la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et le Grand Studio.

 
 
AGENDA

01>04/06/2022

Theater Les Tanneurs, Brussels (Be)


PAST DATES

10/14/2021

*CREATION*

Biennale de Charleroi danse, Les Écuries (Be)

COLLAPSE

Julien Carlier / Cie Abis

DANSE

Création  octobre 2021 - 50'

À l’heure de l’effondrement de nos repères, d’alertes plus graves encore concernant notre futur, qu’en est-il de la résistance des corps? Si l’on observait et expérimentait comme des enfants la lente et patiente construction d’une forme, suivie de son rapide écroulement à la façon d’un château de Kapla, par quels états, quelles images, émotions, réactions passerait-on ?

Chorégraphie et direction artistique Julien Carlier Création musicale et collaboration artistique Simon Carlier Danse - création et interprétation Jules Rozenwajn, Daniel Barkan, Benoit Nieto Duran, Dunya Narli, Joël Brown, Lory Laurac Musicien - batterie live Tom Malmendier Création lumière Arié Van Egmond  Scénographie Boris Dambly Costumes Alexandra Sebbag Dramaturgie Fanny Brouyaux Production Xavier Melis  Développement et diffusion Bloom Project

À l’heure de l’effondrement de nos repères, d’alertes plus graves encore concernant notre futur, qu’en est-il de la résistance des corps ? Si l’on observait et expérimentait comme des enfants la lente et patiente construction d’une forme, suivie de son rapide écroulement à la façon d’un château de Kapla, par quels états, quelles images, émotions, réactions passerait-on?

 

Avec COLLAPSE, Julien Carlier part à la recherche de nos points d’équilibre et de chute, intéressé comme toujours par une exploration des limites, un questionnement sur notre sensibilité et notre gravité. Dans ce spectacle, les danseur·se·s se font corps objets, manipulables et manipulateu·trice·s, à l’intérieur d’une scénographie conçue comme un terrain de jeu, offrant liberté et contrainte. En quête d’ascension, debout ou effondrés, stables et instables, quelle que soit notre position, notre intention, « nous sommes tous – comme le constate le chorégraphe — constamment occupés à danser pour maintenir notre équilibre. »                                                                                        (Fabienne Aucant)

Production Cie Abis En coproduction avec Charleroi-Danse – Centre chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, le Théâtre Les Tanneurs, le CDCN Pôle Sud de Strasbourg et le CCN Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin  Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service de la Danse et de Wallonie-Bruxelles International (WBI) 

Julien Carlier est chorégraphe résident à Charleroi-Danse, et est soutenu par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et le Grand Studio.

 
 

AGENDA 

01>04/06/2022

Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Bruxelles (Be)

14/10/2021

*CRÉATION*

Biennale de Charleroi-Danse, Les Écuries (Be)


DATES PASSÉES